New ANZ CEO misses his Aston Martins

Aston MartinNew ANZ CEO, Michael Smith, yesterday showed he may have some distance to cover in terms of relating to his fellow workers at ANZ Bank, when he revealed to the Sydney Morning Herald that he owns about 10 hand built Aston Martins back in Hong Kong.

Meanwhile he also outlined his philosophy on performance pay to the Australian newspaper:

“‘I actually like to keep it simple,’ he said.

‘I like people to be very aware of what they’ve got to achieve and I expect them to achieve it.

‘If they do … they’ll get rewarded, if they don’t I’ll find people who can.'”

And told the Sydney Morning Herald to expect more outsourcing of bank processing jobs off shore:

“The thrust of the technological moves would allow customers to do all their own banking at the touch of button, in a move that indicates ANZ will aim to cut costs even further in back-office work.

This could lead to more banking jobs being outsourced to countries like India, where ANZ already has a large IT centre.

‘There are great savings [to be made] in processing,’ Mr Smith said.”

(thanks to Monique Hofland for the photo)

12 Responses to “New ANZ CEO misses his Aston Martins”


  1. 1 Sarah 12 November, 2007 at 10:37 am

    I would rather know more about his philanthropic activities than his Aston Martins.

  2. 2 business pr 22 May, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    My wife and i positively love your site and discover many your post’s to be exactly what are I’m trying to find.
    is it possible to offer guest writers to create content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write in terms of here.
    Again, awesome weblog!

  3. 3 eurortvagd 19 June, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and
    said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  4. 4 potty training 9 October, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring
    on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and
    would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  5. 5 seagum.com 6 June, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Quality articles is the secret to attract the visitors to visit the website, that’s what this website is providing.

  6. 6 fat loss factor Review 21 August, 2014 at 9:59 am

    I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else
    encountering issues with your site. It seems like some of the
    written text on your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please
    provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too?
    This could be a problem with my web browser because I’ve
    had this happen before. Cheers

  7. 7 30th birthday ideas 6 September, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Wonderful, what a web site it is! This web site presents valuable
    facts to us, keep it up.

  8. 8 30th birthday present ideas for her 25 September, 2014 at 10:52 am

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people
    from that service? Thanks a lot!

  9. 9 find out more info here 29 September, 2014 at 7:53 am

    Washing of CurtainsIn most instances, oil pulling you will have to decide is do you want them to serve?
    As most people oil pulling tend to think that
    you’ve got some fact-checking to do. How about a shower curtain is a cafe curtain, you can clean your blinds without taking them off the window.

    After we complete our top earning years – whatever we earn or collect could very well
    be taxed at oil pulling a much higher rate.

  10. 10 Sabrina 7 October, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    It’s awesome for me to have a website, which is good for
    my know-how. thanks admin

  11. 11 Keesha 12 February, 2015 at 9:39 am

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is just placing the other person’s
    blog link on your page at suitable place and other person will also
    do same for you.


  1. 1 Freddom Mentor reviews Trackback on 5 March, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

You can contact us at:

0800 FINSEC (0800 346 732)
union@finsec.org.nz
www.finsec.org.nz


Creative Commons License
Join Now 0800 FINSEC

RSS LabourStart – act now to help other workers

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Finsec Photos

Archives


