Gay bankers staying in the closet

London Pride 2004 A recent survey of bankers in London suggests that about 55,000 out of the 900,000 or so people working in banking, finance and insurance in London identified themselves as gay.

The City has some way to go.   There is still room for another 35,000 gay or lesbian employees before the industry matches the mix in London’s general population,” the survey said.

“The extent to which people are ‘out’ in their firms is far smaller than the number who privately acknowledge they are homosexual.”

According to Reuters the survey revealed an increase in the number of financial services employees who identified themselves as gay.   Women were three times more likely than men not to disclose their sexuality.

“London still has a reputation as a macho environment dominated by heterosexual white males.   But investment banks are trying to change the City’s culture after a string of discrimination lawsuits in the United States and now in Britain.”

(thanks to ihar for the photo)

9 Responses to “Gay bankers staying in the closet”


  1. 1 Clemencia 5 November, 2009 at 1:49 am

    The Gay bankers should look at international posts. Take openly gay banker Anre Schober at Atlantic Security Bank in Panama whos is rumored for running for President of the International Gay Bankers Society. The USA is becoming hostile to Gay Bankers.

  2. 2 why kids love cats 12 April, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be using? I’m experiencing some minor security issues with my latest website and I’d like to find something more risk-free. Do you have any recommendations?

  3. 3 Ramon 19 April, 2013 at 10:20 am

    You know most people don’t really realize the benefits of running a blog. Or even just simply how much hard work that goes into building a blog website. Honestly running a blog is generally a lot of fun as well as a wonderful means to grow your brand or maybe online business.

  4. 4 android market downloads free apps 20 April, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Hi there! I simply would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great information you might have here on this post.

    I shall be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  5. 5 Twila 1 May, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Awesome blog. I’ve got a dilemma. As a blog owner, just how long did it require for your blog website to become profitable? Furthermore exactly what do you enjoy most about running a blog?

  6. 6 hadware 4 May, 2013 at 2:55 am

    After I initially commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the exact same comment.
    There has to be a means you can remove me from that
    service? Thanks!

  7. 8 Game downloads 4 August, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d definitely donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site with
    my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  8. 9 games 5 August, 2014 at 1:58 am

    After looking into a number of the articles on your website,
    I really appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list and will
    be checking back soon. Please check out my web site too and tell
    me how you feel.


Leave a comment




You can contact us at:

0800 FINSEC (0800 346 732)
union@finsec.org.nz
www.finsec.org.nz


Creative Commons License
Join Now 0800 FINSEC

RSS LabourStart – act now to help other workers

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Finsec Photos

Archives